Atrial Fibrillation Action Initiative

The NATF Atrial Fibrillation Action Initiative identifies multidisciplinary best practices for stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation (Afib). Our mission is to provide a comprehensive yet concise consensus document focused on stroke and bleeding risk assessment in patients with Afib as well as anticoagulation options and management. We intend for this practical document to serve as a reference for the entire medical community involved in the care of patients with Afib: primary care, emergency medicine, pharmacy, and cardiovascular medicine.

Click Here for The Full Document

NATF would like to extend its sincere gratitude to all of those who supported and participated in the Atrial Fibrillation Action Initiative, including our dedicated team of providers.

Guest Editor

Corinna Brunckhorst, MD, FESC
Co-chair, Division of Electrophysiology and Pacing
Department of Cardiology, University Heart Center
University Hospital Zurich, Switzerland

NATF Action Initiative Consensus Group Members

Christian T. Ruff, MD, MPH (Chair)
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Jack E. Ansell, MD
Hofstra North Shore/LIJ School of Medicine

Richard C. Becker, MD
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
University of Cincinnati Medical Center

Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM
Boston University School of Medicine and Public Health
Boston Medical Center

David J. Deicicchi, PharmD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

N. A. Mark Estes, MD
Tufts University School of Medicine
Tufts Medical Center

Michael D. Ezekowitz, MBChB, DPhil, FRCP
Jefferson Medical College
Thomas Jefferson University
Lankenau Medical Center

John Fanikos, RPh, MBA
Northeastern University School of Pharmacy
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Jawed Fareed, PhD
Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine
Loyola University Medical Center

David Garcia, MD
University of Washington School of Medicine
University of Washington Medical Center

Robert P. Giugliano, MD, MS
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Samuel Z. Goldhaber, MD
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Christopher Granger, MD
Duke University School of Medicine
Duke University Medical Center

Jeff S. Healey, MD, MSc, FRCPC, FHRS
Population Health Research Institute
McMaster University

Russell Hull, MBBS, MSc, FRCPC, FACP, FCCP
University of Calgary
Foothills Medical Center

Elaine Hylek, MD, MPH
Boston University School of Medicine and Public Health
Boston Medical Center

A special thank you to all of the Initiative’s corporate sponsors:

Related Articles